Is Garlic Powder Gluten Free? [Brand Guide]

Is there any chance that garlic powder is not gluten-free? There could be and this article will help discuss this and more. Garlic powder is usually gluten-free. However, garlic powder mixed with other spices or …

garlic powder and garlic

Is there any chance that garlic powder is not gluten-free? There could be and this article will help discuss this and more.

Garlic powder is usually gluten-free. However, garlic powder mixed with other spices or herbs in a seasoning mix may not be. This is because seasoning mixes will need an anti-caking agent or stabilizer to help prevent the ingredients from clumping.

What are the FDA regulations regarding this, and what are the brands that are gluten-free? Scroll down to find the answers!

Is Garlic Powder Usually Gluten Free? 

Garlic powder is generally free from gluten. This is the case for spices that are sold with no other spices.

Spices in the market that are sold individually are also usually free from gluten and other ingredients that can cause a disturbance. However, seasoning mixes that contain two or more spices like garlic and some other spice or herb might not be gluten-free (source: Beyond Celiac). 

Different spices have different textures, compositions, and structures. Seasoning mixes that contain more than one spice or herb might clump up due to humidity or the nature of the ingredients. 

This is addressed by the use of anti-caking additives or preservatives. These agents help prevent or slow down the clumping of the ingredients (source: Michigan State University). 

Garlic powder is usually the only ingredient when sold as is. However, we recommend checking the label or the packaging just to make sure that it doesn’t contain any gluten or wheat. 

garlic powder and whole garlic

Some anti-caking agents and stabilizers are safe for gluten-intolerant individuals. However, what you want to look for and avoid are flour, wheat, wheat flour, wheat starch, and other ingredients in this list as they contain gluten or wheat. 

Another thing to find on a packaging is the label “Produced in a facility that processes wheat”. This means that there is a chance of cross-contamination between wheat and the ingredient concerned, which in this case is garlic. 

Garlic Powder Brands and Whether They’re Gluten Free

According to the FDA, having a “Gluten-free” label on a product is voluntary. But manufacturers who use this label should follow the requirements set by the FDA, and use the claim accurately and not in a misleading way.

The FDA regulates that any food labeled as “gluten-free”, “free of gluten”, “no gluten”, and “without gluten” contain less than 20 ppm of gluten (source: FDA). 

Most, if not all garlic powder manufacturers don’t declare the ppm gluten in their gluten-free products. But here are some garlic powder brands and if they are gluten-free or not: 


According to their website’s Allergen Statement, they always declare any ingredient that can potentially cause food allergies and sensitivities in the Ingredients part of the label, and not hide them under the general “spices” or “natural flavors” ingredient.

The McCormick garlic powder is not labeled to contain wheat or gluten, which means it is gluten-free (source: McCormick).


Lawry’s is a brand under McCormick. The ingredients list includes garlic, sunflower oil, and parsley. This too should be gluten-free according to McCormick.


garlic powder and garlic

According to Spoonful App, Stonemill garlic powder may contain wheat (source: Spoonful App). We recommend choosing other wheat-free or gluten-free garlic powders instead. 


Kirkland doesn’t seem to have garlic powder and instead offers Signature Minced California Garlic and Signature Granulated California Garlic, which are not powdered. According to Amazon, the latter is gluten-free (source: Amazon). 


Like Lawry’s, Clubhouse is also under the umbrella of McCormick & Company, Inc. Clubhouse should be gluten-free. 

Great Value 

The label of the product’s packaging states that it “may contain traces of wheat”. To be safe, we recommend giving this brand a pass.


According to them, Kroger garlic powder is listed as gluten-free (source: Mariano’s). 


According to their website, Badia garlic powder is gluten-free (source: Badia Spices). 

Smidge & Spoon 

Smidge & Spoon garlic powder is distributed by Kroger and in its ingredients, only dehydrated garlic is listed. You’ll also see in the packaging that the garlic powder is made in China. 

Imported goods still need to meet the same legal regulations in the US (source: FDA). However, we still need to research more about its labeling, particularly regarding the presence of gluten.

Other Garlic Powder Products and Gluten Content 

Other garlic powder products like garlic salt, garlic and onion seasoning, and other mixes that contain garlic, you’ll have to read the ingredients list if it contains wheat or gluten-based ingredients as listed above. 

Generally, they are gluten-free like the one that McCormick offers. Other brands might list an ingredient called modified food starch which might come from wheat. For this, we recommend calling the manufacturer to clarify. 

The one thing to remember is to always read the ingredients label. If the starch used is not mentioned to come from a gluten-free source like cornstarch, we recommend not purchasing or using that garlic powder.

May this article serve as a guide when buying garlic powder!

If you want to expand your knowledge on the gluten-free status of various forms of garlic, including fresh and roasted, don’t miss out on the opportunity to explore my guide. It’s you chance to deepen your understanding and make informed choices when using garlic in your meals.